Organized in November 1817, Christ Church, Georgetown, has embarked upon a year-long celebration of the 200th anniversary of this and other important milestones in the formation of the community of faith at the corner of 31st and O Streets. The Bicentennial Committee has planned an extensive and multifaceted slate of events and programs involving dozens of parishioners who have committed themselves to brainstorming, preparation, and execution through the work of five sub-committees: Education, Events, Marketing & Communications, Multimedia & Publications, and Music & Worship. The goals of the Bicentennial celebration are: to express gratitude, to build community, and to inspire growth.

Bicentennial Bulletin

September 2017
October 2017
November 2017
December 2017
January 2018
February 2018

Bicentennial Articles

The Founding of Christ Church, Georgetown 
Thomas Corcoran
​Reuel Keith
Clement Smith
Writing a Bicentennial Hymn Text
John Francis Hoff
James Sewell Morsell
Thomas Plater

Bicentennial Celebrations

Sunday, November 12, 2017
Christ Church, Georgetown, was organized on November 10, 1817. Join us as we honor the founding of our beloved parish with a combined celebration of the Holy Eucharist, at 10:00 a.m., featuring the premiere of a new congregational mass setting commissioned for the occasion. The service will be followed by a Founders Festival, featuring period food and drink, live music, and an exhibition of historic documents and artifacts, and other items of interest.

Sunday, May 13, 2018
The cornerstone of the first church building was laid on May 12, 1818. We will mark the occasion with a combined celebration of the Holy Eucharist, at 10:00 a.m. Following the liturgy, we will process to Georgetown's historic Tudor Place for a garden party and picnic.

Sunday, January 6, 2019
The first church building was consecrated on December 30, 1818. Join us as we celebrate the 200th anniversary of this milestone with a Service of Lessons & Carols for the Feast of the Epiphany, at 4:00 p.m. The liturgy will be followed by a festive reception in the Parish Hall Auditorium.

For questions about these and all other components of the celebration, or to volunteer, contact Puffin Travers or Page Smith, Bicentennial Committee Co-chairs.

Bicentennial Committee

Page Lane Smith, Co-chair
Mary Stuart (Puffin) Brown Travers, Co-chair
Katherine Brown
Tim Carrington
Henry Courtney
Ed Crocker
Anne Gambal
Marcia Mayo
Glenn Metzdorf
Scott Plumridge
Evie Rooney
David Shepard
Thomas Smith
Heather Stouffer
Christy Thorley
Sally Squires Wilhelm
Harry Volz

Click here for the solution to the Search and Find puzzle in the February edition of The Bicentennial Bulletin.