Sermons

Derived from the Latin word sermo, meaning discourse, a sermon is an address on a biblical, theological, or moral subject, typically delivered by a member of the clergy in a liturgical setting. At Christ Church, a sermon given within the context of the Holy Eucharist is often referred to as a homily.

Texts from sermons delivered during the 11:15 a.m. Sunday liturgy are available below.

 

The Seventh Sunday of Easter (A)
Sunday, May 24, 2020
The Reverend Crystal J. C. Hardin

 

The Ascension of Our Lord Jesus Christ (A)
Thursday, May 21, 2020
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Fifth Sunday of Easter (A)
Sunday, May 10, 2020
The Reverend Crystal J. C. Hardin

 

The Fourth Sunday of Easter (A)
Sunday, May 3, 2020
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Second Sunday of Easter (A)
Sunday, April 19, 2020
The Reverend Crystal J. C. Hardin

 

Easter Sunday (A)
Sunday, April 12, 2020
The Reverend Crystal J. C. Hardin

 

The Sixth Sunday after the Epiphany (A)
Sunday, February 16, 2020
Mr. Jonathan M. Pucik, Seminarian

 

The Fifth Sunday after the Epiphany (A)
Sunday, February 9, 2020
The Reverend Crystal J. Carpenter Hardin

 

The Presentation of Our Lord Jesus Christ (A)
Sunday, February 2, 2020
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Third Sunday after the Epiphany (A)
Sunday, January 26, 2020
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Second Sunday after the Epiphany (A)
Sunday, January 19, 2020
The Reverend John S. McDuffie

 

The Baptism of Our Lord Jesus Christ (A)
Sunday, January 12, 2020
The Reverend John S. McDuffie

 

The Second Sunday after Christmas Day (A)
Sunday, January 5, 2020
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The First Sunday after Christmas Day (A)
Sunday, December 29, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole, for the Reverend Crystal Hardin

 

The Nativity of Our Lord Jesus Christ: Christmas Day (A)
Wednesday, December 25, 2019
The Reverend John S. McDuffie

 

The Nativity of Our Lord Jesus Christ: Christmas Eve (A)
Tuesday, December 24, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Fourth Sunday of Advent (A)
Sunday, December 22, 2019
The Very Reverend Ian S. Markham

 

The Third Sunday of Advent: Gaudete (A)
Sunday, December 15, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Second Sunday of Advent (A)
Sunday, December 8, 2019
The Reverend John S. McDuffie

 

The First Sunday of Advent (A)
Sunday, December 1, 2019
The Reverend Crystal J. Carpenter Hardin

 

Thanksgiving Day (C)
Thursday, November 28, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Feast of Christ the King (C)
Sunday, November 24, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Twenty-third Sunday after Pentecost (C)
Sunday, November 17, 2019
The Reverend John S. McDuffie

 

The Twenty-second Sunday after Pentecost (C)
Sunday, November 10, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Sunday after All Saints' Day (C)
Sunday, November 3, 2019
The Reverend Crystal J. Carpenter Hardin

 

The Eve of the Commemoration of All Faithful Departed
Friday, November 1, 2019
The Reverend John S. McDuffie

 

The Twentieth Sunday after Pentecost (C)
Sunday, October 27, 2019
Mr. Jonathan M. Pucik, Seminarian

 

The Nineteenth Sunday of Pentecost (C)
Sunday, October 20, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Eighteenth Sunday after Pentecost (C)
Sunday, October 13, 2019
The Reverend John S. McDuffie

 

The Seventeenth Sunday after Pentecost (C)
Sunday, October 6, 2019
The Reverend Crystal J. Carpenter Hardin

 

The Sixteenth Sunday after Pentecost (C)
Sunday, September 29, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Fourteenth Sunday after Pentecost (C)
Sunday, September 15, 2019
Mr. Jonathan M. Pucik, Seminarian

 

The Thirteenth Sunday after Pentecost (C)
Sunday, September 8, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Eleventh Sunday after Pentecost (C)
Sunday, August 25, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Ninth Sunday after Pentecost (C)
Sunday, August 11, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Eighth Sunday after Pentecost (C)
Sunday, August 4, 2019
The Reverend Crystal J. Carpenter Hardin

 

The Seventh Sunday after Pentecost (C)
Sunday, July 28, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Sixth Sunday after Pentecost (C)
Sunday, July 21, 2019
The Reverend Crystal J. Carpenter Hardin

 

The Fifth Sunday after Pentecost (C)
Sunday, July 14, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Second Sunday after Pentecost (C)
Sunday, June 23, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Day of Pentecost: Whitsunday (C)
Sunday, June 9, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Sixth Sunday of Easter (C)
Sunday, May 26, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Fourth Sunday of Easter (C)
Sunday, May 12, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Second Sunday of Easter (C)
Sunday, April 28, 2019
The Reverend Crystal J. Carpenter Hardin

 

The Sunday of the Resurrection: Easter Day (C)
Sunday, April 21, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Fourth Sunday in Lent (C)
Sunday, March 31, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Second Sunday in Lent (C)
Sunday, March 17, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A.R. Cole

 

Ash Wednesday (C)
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A.R. Cole

 

The Last Sunday after the Epiphany (C)
Sunday, March 3, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A.R. Cole

 

The Sixth Sunday after the Epiphany (C)
Sunday, February 17, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A.R. Cole

 

The Fourth Sunday after the Epiphany (C)
Sunday, February 3, 2019
Mr. Jonathan M. Pucik, Seminarian

 

The Third Sunday after the Epiphany (C)
Sunday, January 27, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

Bicentennial Evensong
Sunday, January 6, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Epiphany of Our Lord Jesus Christ (C) - a.m.
Sunday, January 6, 2019
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole

 

The Nativity of Our Lord Jesus Christ: Christmas Day (C)
Tuesday, December 25, 2018
The Reverend Timothy A. R. Cole